Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo, Delta State is a private University Located in  the serene environment of Kiagbodo, Burutu Local Government Area, Delta State, Nigeria. It was approved by the Federal government of Nigeria, through the National Universities Commission (NUC) as the 60th Private University in Nigeria on 11thMay 2015. The University is owned by the Edwin Clark Foundation established in honor of Chief (Dr.) Edwin Kiagbodo Clark OFR, CON, who is the president of the Foundation. Chief E. K. Clark is a lover of education because of the developmental roles that could be played by education.

In 1968, he was appointed Commissioner of Education in the defunct Mid-Western Region Edo and now Delta State of Nigeria.

It was during his tenure as commissioner in Mid-Western Region that the University of Benin was established and he function as the first Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council of the University. He was also appointed Pro-Chancellor in Federal University of Technology,Minna in 1983.

Kiagbodo is in the mangrove swamp forest of Burutu Local Government Area of Delta State, Nigeria.

The institution is located between latitude 5.37o N and 5.35oN and longitude 5.88o East and 5.89o East of the GreenwichMeridian on an elevation between 5m and 22m above sea level.

Academic activities commenced on 14th September, 2015. However, the installation of the first Chancellor, Chief (Dr.) Edwin Kiagbodo Clark was done during the Maiden Matriculation Ceremonyheld on 14th November, 2015.

The University has a hybrid library which integrates traditional Library routine service with 21st century digital library services; it is fully equipped with both electronic and conventional library materials.

  • Philosophy

Edwin Clark University is a private secular University established on Christian/Faith based principles and values. It is focused on imparting academic and moral values that will give the Nigerian youth the desired guidance in the areas of entrepreneurship and self-employment and self-reliance anywhere in the globalized world. The University will distinguish itself through an educational philosophy based on commitment to social responsibility, characteristics of all itsprogrammes and services. It will develop and impart practical, technical knowledge in an environment where innovation and creativity are encouraged. Its academic programmes and research activities will revolve around the requirements of the Niger Delta, the surrounding States and Nigeria at large. It is determined to partner with industry, especially the oil and Gas companies.

Special attention will be paid to the region’s wetlands and their ecological and environmental needs in the selection of academic courses offered in relevant areas.

  • Core Values

Belief in the supremacy of God, and that with him all things are possible, the secular status of the university notwithstanding

  1. Promotion of a culture of public spiritedness
  2. Providing benchmark for the assessment of competence, vision and focus in tertiary education
  3. Fostering of an atmosphere that promotes qualities of good leadership
  4. Encouragement of team work and integrity
  5. Zero tolerance for dishonesty, impropriety and immorality
  6. Promotion of knowledge and scholarship as the instrument of progress and development
  7. In the spirit of town and gown relationship, giving to the Local Communities access to the University’s facilities and resources in order to foster good community relations.
  • Our Distinguishing Features.

ECU as part of the commitment to its motto of knowledge and development,

  1. Has in place all facilities that make learning a worthwhile experience
  2. Has in the last one year contributed its quota to building the total man both in character and learning
  3. Offered scholarship to the first 100 registered students in the 2015/2016 academic session and students with outstanding performance remain on the scholarship till graduation
  4. Proved that is a University that cares in all ramifications
  5. Committed to global relevance through collaboration with foreign Universities such as Coventry University, Coventry, UK, Chicago State University, Chicago, USA and Reinhardt University, Waleska, Georgia, USA which avails:
  6. ECU students have the opportunities of taking courses from the participating institutions
  7. ECU students participation in exchange programmes and seamless postgraduate admissions; and vice versa
  8. ECU staff collaborations, exchange programmes and various academic development interactions.

Significantly, Kiagbodo town, where the University is sited is accessible to the Western, Southern and Northern regions of Nigeria by the Warri Burutu road.

It is quite accessible particularly to the teaching hospital complexes of the Delta State University, Oghara, University of Benin Teaching Hospital Benin and the Teaching Hospital of Ambrose Ali University Irrua, Edo State and the other Universities towns within and outside Delta State.

Thus, the University site enjoys good roads linkage with major cities in Delta State and neighboring States of Anambra, Rivers, Bayelsa, Edo etc. which makes for easy recruitment of staff and students.

It is note worth that Kiagbodo house a number of State and Federal Government facilities namely, Women Development Centre for Skill acquisition, Police Station, General Hospitals and Health Maternity Centre, Guest house built by the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Civic Centre built also by NDDC.

Fire Service Station, one Primary School, one Secondary School, Christian Denomination, seven BEDC Transformers are situated in the town that distributed regular electricity to the University and town. The University relies on boreholes located at strategic places for the supply of treated water. The population at Kiagbodo as at 2006 National Population Census is 207, 977.

The University is traversed by road motorable all through the year.  The site which covers a land areas of 134, 839 hectares about 1.05 square kilometer is in Delta South Senatorial District, Other important Settlement in the region are Warri, Sapele and Burutu.


The Niger Delta like other part of Southern Nigeria falls within the humid tropical Climate Zone characterized by seasonal wet and dry seasons, dictated by the position of the Inter Tropical Discontinuity (ITD).The former is dominant during the period of April – October/November which coincides with the rainy or wet seasons while, the later dominates the November – March period dry season.